Beginner App Advise

Hi all, I’m new on here and completely new to drones and photography / videography. After watching a lot of YouTube reviews I decided to buy I’ve a Mavic Air with the fly more kit.

I’ve downloaded the GO4 app and I’m wondering which other apps are worth having as well?

Thanks
Neil

Welcome!
I’m fairly new too - so will leave the more experience guys on here to assist, but thought I’d say hello and welcome you to the group.

2 Likes

Also New,

But thus far I have:

UAV forcast
Drone Assist
DJI GO 4

I have also added the FRZ runway extensions to my Google Maps app. @Brianb showed us how to do that here Flight Restriction Zone Maps

Chann

Thanks @Chann will have a look at these. Does the runway extensions show all restricted areas or is it literally just runways?

Thanks again

I’ve just added the FRZ to google maps and there are a lot more small airfields than I thought.

Neil, I am still learning myself.

My understand is that the rules are changing on 13 March and the FRZ link above shows where we cannot fly (without permission) in regard to airfields.

I have recently learned that the Forestry Commission have rules too about the use of drones.

Have you introduced yourself via the Introductions page? https://greyarro.ws/c/introductions

When you do this, one of the staff here will provide you with some info/links that are very useful in regard to where we can fly.

Wish I could be of more help.

Chann

2 Likes

That’s fine @Chann any help at all is appreciated thank you

1 Like

Like wise @Neil :slight_smile:

Hello @Neil And @johnm1974,
And welcome Both of you the our little place of chit chat about Drones.
Another App that you may want to have (although it’s a paid App!)
Is Litchi, this is similar to Go4, but has the ability to allow you to pre-plan flights using Google Earth to plan them.
A lot of our members are now using this App, with great results.
You will find references of it around the Forum.