Can I fly over a new building site?

I am new to drone flying and have a Mavic 2 Pro. There are houses being built on a 10 acre field bordering our village and the site is locked up over weekends and overnight. There is a road on one boundary of the site with houses on the other side of the road, and the other 3 sides of the site go onto countryside and small roads. There are only a couple of finished houses, half a dozen in progress and about 15 foundations set so far and I wonder if I am permitted to overfly the site out of working hours to take some photos to record this addition to our village? I can keep the 50m distance from existing properties whilst overflying the site.

Check this out:

1 Like

Almost inviting you to document the changing history of your village :wink:

1 Like

I am unsure if this is classified as a built up area. Until they started building houses it was just a farmer’s field on the outskirts of the village but now part of the fenced off site has building work ongoing but the site is locked up and unoccupied after about 5 pm and over weekends. Might contact the builder and ask for permission.

It’s the field in the centre surrounded by roads

Go ask and offer to give copies of the photos as it progresses, I would have thought they would say yes.
Or just do it anyway. But you don’t want them thinking its scum casing the area for machinery to pinch.

1 Like

Have you thought how you would retrieve the drone if you were forced to land in the barriered off area?
I have an old derelict mansion house close by that i would love to send the drone in for a look about, but the thought crossed my mind on how to get it back in a worse case scenario.

Isn’t that the fear though of flying over anything ?

1 Like

Very good point, I hadn’t considered that but I guess it’s the same risk as flying over water.