DJI Spark - What is the max wind I can fly in?

I am wanting to fly my DJI spark this weekend but it’s windy. What is the maximum wind speed I can fly it in? As I am new to this I don’t know?

I would say a max of 15mph.

DJI recommendations / Specs for Spark

https://www.dji.com/uk/mobile/spark/info

1 Like

See new topic also

1 Like

In no way belittling you but I would suggest, if it is a fairly new aircraft to you and you may not have a great deal of experience on that particular type, to be cautious.

I know how frustrating it is to sit out the weather and the bad news seems to be strong winds for me in the south at least) for the next two weeks at a minimum. I’ve got a new to me octocopter that can lift a full frame DSLR or decent cinema camera all built and ready for its first flight. But, rather than take a risk, I’m waiting for a calm(ish) day. Then, if and when problems develop, I have one less factor to battle against.

Any abandoned warehouses near you to practice in :slight_smile: ?

1 Like

I agree with Robert, don’t even try to fly, unless you are confident you can handle the wind speed.
No point in risking your drone on a flyaway.
Remember, the higher you go, there is a strong probability that the wind speed will increase significantly.

2 Likes

@evilc666 - IaninLondon, an experienced pilot and a prominent YouTuber had a wind speed problem with his new Mavic Mini on New Year’s Eve. He had ignored the stronger wind at altitude in his rush to capture New Year fireworks. And we are not talking thousands of feet here - wind speed at just 100 feet can be twice that on the ground.

PS - while the weather is crap have a look at Ian’s videos. He talks a fair amount of sense and he’s not afraid to own up to his mistakes so that others learn from them. He also posts in here from time to time.

3 Likes