Does anyone use a iPad Pro 12.9 4th gen for editing?

I’m about to start learning to edit my drone videos having no experience of this before , I am thinking of getting a iPad Pro 12.9 inch 4th gen with 1TB of memory/ storage . Does anyone use one of these ? Is it upto the job ? I’ve searched for previous topics but could not find much but totally understand and welcome if you want to move this to a better place . Most of the video is shot in 4K 30fps from my M2P . Any advise welcome.

According to this review on 4K Shooters, it is not an everyday professional replacement to an editing device. But fine as an emergency solution.

1 Like

Thanks for the link , I think they are doing far more professional stuff than what I’m likely to be doing but a interesting read

I also have a iPad Pro 12.9 - 1 tb. . .
I fly a Mavic 2 pro and DJI Mini 2, I edit using LumaFusion. . . . .
It works well for me. It’s user friendly.
I’m no expert, but results are very acceptable.

1 Like

I have a iPad Pro 12.9 but with far less storage than the one you’re thinking on getting. I’ve used LumaFusion for editing and I must say it’s a very reliable app to edit videos. I’m no expert and used the app twice only and even with no previous experience I’m quite happy with the results.

iPads can be very limited tho, it has thousands of functionalities but does not replace a good laptop/desktop. If you’re using it for recreational purposes on your daily tasks and eventually editing videos etc I’d highly recommend it, but if you’re going to use it also for university or on professional tasks keep in mind that it lacks some (or a lot, depends on what you’re using it for) tools which you can only find on laptops.

4 Likes

Thank you , I would really only be using it for editing as I have other devices for everything else and the reason it’s this iPad Pro is I have the chance of one at a really good price , to be honest I was looking at a MacBook until this came up ,