Flying in from NW Surrey

Just landed here (thanks to PingSpike) and excited to see a forum dedicated to, shall be say ‘life-experienced’, drone pilots in the UK.

I’m very much the newbie having only had my Mavic Pro for three days and still overcoming the FUD factor (fear uncertainty and doubt). Hope to be getting it in the air very soon.

My background is photography and writing and I plan to use the Mavic as a new camera platform, literally taking my image-making skills to new heights!

Welcome @Londroner :smiley:

What are the NFZs like round your way?

I live t’up nort’ now, but I was born in London, grew up around Wimbledon, Mitcham, Sutton, Croydon, etc!

I’d imaging you’re probably quite restricted round that way, as they’re all within the M25 really. Is this an issue for you?

Still, the A3 will quickly (well, maybe not that quickly due to traffic lol) take you outside of the M25 to Guildford and the start of some decent countryside and scenery?

Not good, in a nutshell. I’m about six miles from Heathrow, which casts a big red ‘shadow’ over my whole location. DJI’s app shows me in a Class D area with ‘caution to fly’. Ironically I have some great open ground near me like Runnymede (a short walk away) and Chobham Common. However, National Trust owns the former and Surrey Wildlife Trust controls the latter. Both have blanket no- drones rules.

There’s a good spot in the Surrey Hills near Guildford which is about 40 minutes way or, I’m told, part of Richmond Park to my east. I’m trying to check out both of them to see if they’re suitable.

Other than that, I’m hoping to find a friendly farmer with a spare field! No luck yet.

Bloody hell… nightmare scenario :frowning:

The Manchester flightpath to the west coast is about ten miles south of me so I’m well clear of it, but there were some places I wanted to check out that like you say, fall under the big red shadow.