Flying near Manchester Airport

The company I work for is about 4.5 miles away from Manchester airport. A company that has done the alarms and CCTV for the building, has asked my boss if he could get his friend to take drone pictures of the building for a promational video. with being so close to the airport what permissions would the drone operator need to get to fly a drone about a couple of hundred feet. if that. It’s a 2 story building. also what certificate would the drone operator need to fly the drone.

At 4.5 miles away you may be just outside the exclusion zone, which extends 5km from the airport. Another dependency is the weight of the drone - if under 250g it is OK to fly around the building but any heavier may need CAA permission and a pilot with appropriate qualifications.

1 Like

I have just asked him what is the weight of the drone. He has texted back the drone is under 250g. what will he need in the way of qualifications. I am totally new to drone flying. I don’t own a drone or flown a drone. yet. but since i made my first enquires about drones to this site. I now keep bumping in to drone related issues.

The “friend” is going to need to check if they’re in the zone shown above. They’ll need insurance too, public liability as a minimum. As it’s a promo video you could argue there will be commercial gain, so an A2CofC certificate would also be likely.

I know he’s a mate, but the whole getting a friend to do it on the cheap thing is crippling any commercial flyers.

1 Like