FPV: My Experience and kit list (with links)

Hi All,

I was part of a thread on here the other day about an FPV package drone and it got me thinking other than the ready to fly kits usually small whoop drones it is quite a tricky task on how to start FPV so I thought that I would share my experience in venturing into FPV from a complete beginner perspective along with a list of the kit I purchased to get me started along with the cost and a link of where to get it here in the UK.

After watching countless youtube videos and reading recommendations from @anon34183503 FPV Guide I purchased my Radiomaster TX16s and battery at a total cost of Ā£140.21 including shipping. I chose this radio for 2 reasons 1) it is compatible with a Simulator as it has a USB C port on the top of it to connect to a PC and 2) it will grow with me into the hobby but also will be easily sellable if I found that FPV wasnā€™t for me.

The next thing that I purchased was a simulator and after watching more youtube videos I opted for velocidrone I used youtube to setup my TX16s with the sim and spent several hours playing with the sticks and getting used to the feel of the drones in the sim.

Next I purchased a set of goggles I opted for a set of Fat Shark Scouts at a cost of Ā£202.92 including shipping a very good set of goggles, really small profile for a box goggle and again pretty easy to sell on if I didnā€™t like it. I did purchase a set of leads from amazon so that I can connect them to my PC and use them with the simulator but I really didnā€™t use it much so I wonā€™t bother linking them but if anybody wants the links for them just ask.