Geofencing a real issue?

As a hobbyist my understanding is that geofencing is there for a reason. I’ve never ran into an issue yet. Im possibly not trying hard enough of course!. I understand the frustrations of a professional drone pilot trying to work within or around such area, could see that as a challenge but for the rest of us?

Ive noted the odd mention on here but many many more times on other US based forums the uproar geofencing causes most folk over there. Many US DJI owners opting to jump on the Autel bandwagon in order to ease their suffering.

So, is it really an issue ? or is it simply an issue with those folk who cant stand being told where they cant fly?. (Much like lockdown - dare I say :stuck_out_tongue: :grin:)

Look at DroneScene - switch all layers off except the FRZ layer and then toggle the DJI Geofence layer on and off to see how much space DJI restricts us from using compared to what we can use.

eg - from a randomly chosen area …

FRZs …

DJI Geofence overlaying FRZs

DJI Geofence only

A simplification, obviously, but it demonstrates the fundamental differences.

And, perhaps more importantly, there are plenty of FRZs that don’t have a counterpart in the DJI data (I spy several in that area alone), which means people can think DJI is protecting them from committing an offence … but they aren’t.

4 Likes

I can see quite clearly where DJI have been over zealous with their restrictions. Is this more about them covering their arse rather than ours then ?

1 Like

Nope - it’s all about them having a simple global format with total disregard to any local legislation or actual airport activity types/levels.

1 Like

Remember (kind of in their defence), they have to have the whole world in your drone. That’s a tight squeeze to get anything near a complete reality.

Rather than repeat a lot of what’s been said on this in the past, take a look through Can you fly? DJI NFZs v UK FRZs and other Air Space

2 Likes