Greetings fellow pilots, newbie here from Plymouth UK!

Hi Guys,

A big thanks goes out to Rich (PingSpike) who invited me to this lovely family gathering.

I invested in a Mavic 2 Zoom just recently & spent a fortune on extras plus a FlyMore Kit. I am just waiting on a set of Tiffin ND filters ordered direct from the States.

I have also got myself insured through Icarus with £1m public liability (which they claim is better than DJI Care Refresh as they claim it’s just an extended warranty in reality with bigger outlay on yourself with claims.)

I haven’t launched it yet, only gone through the “props off” tests at home but nerves prevent me from going out there in the big wide world & stuffing my £1000+ investment into a tree or cliff.

I put a post out on MavicPilots.com to ask for beginners guidance but more importantly, places to practice in my area. I thought I could nip up to the moors & start there as my phone app said I could but digging deeper, I can’t as it’s a national park!

So, if there are any local pilots in the Plymouth area, (I live in Plympton), I would love to meet up & have a little guidance in the basics at a place which is legal.

There’s a couple of post flight beers in it for you!

Yours in anticipation,
Rick

PS my knowledge of drones rest with an early Parrot AR which now sits unused in my loft!!

4 Likes

Welcome Rick,
I hope you enjoy the forum.

Unfortunately I live a zillion miles away in Suffolk, but I hope someone close helps out.

Yep! Avoiding cliffs & trees is always a good start!

1 Like

Hi Rick / @rick.hyde , and welcome to GADC. :+1:

Quite a few of our members also own the M2Z … so you are amongst good company.

If you haven’t already, take a look at the Map of Members and you’ll see there are a few other members in your neck of the woods, some of whom I’m sure will come and say Hi.

(Don’t forget to add yourself to that map :+1: : How to add yourself to the Members Map )