Greetings from Otley, West/North Yorkshire

Hello All

I’ve been building and flying multirotor drones since late 2012 after I was forced to give up working due to a degenerative illness. Like many around that time I started with the ubiquitous Phantom 1 but due to my geek gene I started building shortly afterward starting with a DJI F550 hex, which I loaded with FPV, GoPro/Gimbal, and the DJI Datalink Ground Station.

To date I have around 60 of what I would term as hobby/consumer drones, some self built, some off the shelf from the likes of DJI, Yuneec, Blade, Parrot, Immersionrc, and some flybynight Chinese clones. All but three of the OTS models I purchased as spares or repairs, mainly from the Bay but also swap meets and various other classifieds. I have a career background in electronics so I really enjoy the technical challenge of resurrecting something a previous owner or repair shop have deemed beyond hope.

I have been a member of a BMFA flying club local to me since 2014 but the majority of the members consider anything with more than one prop to be the work of the Devil, so I mainly fly electric fixed wing sport and aerobatic, and occasional heli action with a Trex 500 fitted with a Hughes 500e fuselage.

I would rate my flying abilities as being low to moderate and my video/photo skills even less. I have mobility issues :violin:, live within earshot of an airport, and receive the evil Paddington Bear stare at the flying club when I spin up three or more props, so many of my robot minions have not seen the face of battle in earnest other than pedestrian flights around my property.

Other than that I’m 53, married, and have a cat that plans to kill me in my sleep.

Regards

Nidge.

7 Likes

Welcome to the group.
I’m 60 with a wife who plots to kill me in my sleep.

3 Likes

Welcome Nidge
Used to live in Otley, over In Halifax now.