Hello all from Poole

Hello all,

As someone who has been reading many posts for the past days, and has always had a keen interest in drones, I have finally taken the plunge. I am in the process of buying the DJI Mavic Mini. As a keen amateur photographer, I hope that the Mini will provide a good starting base to get into aerial photography, to expand my possibilities for shots. I will mainly be flying locally (Dorset/Devon), and in the North Wales Mountains.

I will be registering the drone (probably going to add some small strobes to it) and will be getting insurance through a BMFA country membership.

Obviously with everything that going on in the world at the moment, I will be restricted to the conservatory and perhaps low flight in the back garden, but will be glad of any tips on flight locations in and around Dorset for when everything gets back to normal (whenever that may be…?)

I hope everyone is staying safe for now,

3 Likes

Welcome to GADC Owen, a great bunch of lads on here with plenty of experience to answer any questions you may have.

One of the Mod’s will no doubt be along soon to give you the official GADC welcome.

Hi Owen / @MMJones96, and welcome to GADC. :+1:

An ever increasing number of our members also own the Mavic Mini … so you are amongst good company and plenty of knowledge to tap into on that model.

If you haven’t already, take a look at the Map of Members and you’ll see there are a few other members in your neck of the woods, some of whom I’m sure will come and say Hi.

The forum’s search functions are a very efficient way to find previous threads and posts that might already have covered topics in which you are interested in learning more or answer that niggling question but, when this doesn’t turn up what you’re after, there’s a wealth of knowledge amongst the members, so ask away over on #questions-and-answers.