Hello from Canary Wharf

Hi everyone!

I’ve been lurking on here for a couple of weeks now, so just thought I’d introduce myself. My name is Anthony and I’m from London. I’m doing my PhD at Imperial, looking at developing a radar/InSAR system for the DJI M600 Pro for infrastrucutre/geology monitoring. I’m doing my GVC for this.

I also currently use the DJI Air 2S for recreational flying around London (although there is not many places to do so legally) and on the south coast.

It’s nice to see such an active drone community here!

5 Likes

Welcome to GADC Anthony - enjoy the club :+1:

1 Like

Hi Anthony and welcome to GADC.

1 Like

Hi Anthony & welcome

1 Like

Hi guys :smiley:

Hi Ant, fellow Londoner here, but on the north side.

Lucky where you are there’s a few places not too far away. Make sure you check out Drone Scene . Created by GADC too!

Be great to arrange a London meet up at some point…outside of London :smiley:

2 Likes

Hi,

Yeah, there’s quite a few places near me available thankfully with not too much travel. Do you manage to get out around North London?

A London meetup would be great, but yes, probably best outside of London! :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

I tend to go an hour north if I’m heading in that direction, or down South into Kent and Surrey.

Richmond has a great little flying field too

Yeah, Richmond Park is great if you can avoid the crowds and the deer!

Hey Anthony, wecome! I’m fairly new here as well.

I also live in London which - as I’ve found out since buying my Air2S - is a nightmare when it comes to flying! Outside of the obvious standard No Fly Zones (NFZs) such as airpots, sporting venues, etc, there’s a whole bunch of Borough-specifc byelaws, some which can be really confusing. Having gone into the weeds a bit on some of them already I was thinking of trying to put together a London Boroughs flying guide.

If you haven’t already found it I’d definitely recommend the flying field at Richmond Park.