Hello from Southampton

Morning all, I’m a newbie drone enthusiast and live in Marchwood. I’ve got quite a bit of time on my hands and am looking for places to fly. Can anyone help me?

4 Likes

Sorry Zimbo,
Out at Suffolk, so can’t help.

Have you put yourself on the members map.
You might find someone close by!

Welcome to the forum.

1 Like

Hi Zimbo,
Welcome to the forum, If you haven’t already, take a look at the Map of Members and you should see a few other members near you.
As for places to fly, check out the Drone Scene website:

Cheers
Richard

3 Likes

Thanks Richard,
I have followed your links and will be taking a look at a few places around me.

Do a search for Hythe Pier in the status bar at the top of the screen. Several members seem to fly there and check out the passing ships

1 Like

Great to see our numbers swelling. Thanks for joining us and welcome to your new ‘home’ (!)

Sorry I can’t help with local venues, but you can be assured someone will soon come up with useful information for you.

1 Like

@OzoneVibe is your man.

2 Likes

Hi Zimbo,welcome to the family.

1 Like

Hello and welcome.

1 Like

Thanks everyone - I’ve already had some great tips and now I have another question. If I want to get my pfCo, how many hours would be the minimum one could have before attempting this? I have plenty of time on my hands and could probably fly for at least 1.5hrs / day for the next month.

Hythe pier? I am afraid I may ditch my new virgin drone into the pond. I need someone to give me a few lessons. I nearly said crash course :wink:

2 Likes

I don’t have my PfCO and don’t, at this stage, intend going for it either.

In terms of when are you up to scratch flying wise then that is purely down to the individual but for me, the much bigger question would be… why do I want to get it? I’m not asking you to tell me, but you really ought to have a clear idea of the why and then the what you want to do once you have it.