Hello from sunny Berkshire

Hi…
I’m James, and I’m new to drones, I’ve had a Mavic Air for about two weeks and am having a great time using it as a photo/video platform and also just throwing it around in sports mode :slight_smile:

In the past I flew RC helis (Trex 450, Trex 500), and up until about 15 or so years ago I flew light aircraft so am very familiar with CAA regulations, pilot’s weather, importance of proper pre-flighting an aircraft (even “just” a UAV), and so on.

2 Likes

Hi James, welcome to the forum.

I am new here too. The folks here are very helpful. Welcome.

Welcome! Only been here a week myself :slight_smile: its a really friendly forum James! Ive also just got the Mavic Air and am loving it (but not this crappy weather!).

Welcome to the forum James. I am Ram from Bucks. Hope you have a good time with your drone.

Hi @MadParrot and welcome to Grey Arrows :smiley:

Quite a few Mavic Air owners here so don’t be afraid to ask questions, they’re a friendly, helpful bunch alright :+1:

What was the Trex 500 like to fly? Did it cope ok in high winds?

Welcome once again :slight_smile:

1 Like

Both the Trex 450 and Trex 500 were fine in high winds - so long as they were pointed into wind for takeoff and landing. Like all “proper” :wink: RC helicopters they are massively overpowered so it’s more a case of how good is the pilot!

Edited to add: The Mavic Air I’m now flying is very good at coping with high and gusty winds. Today looks nice and clear, the first two flights were each nice and easy with gentle winds… the third flight was much more interesting as a Cb (cumulo nimbus) made an appearance; I simultaneously got “high wind” and “attitude too large” warnings, the helipad tried to fly away (it was staked down). I brought the MA back; it was distinctly leaning into wind on the approach and in the hover, yet it maintained position within about 2’. Most impressive!

2 Likes