Hi - I'm a complete novice, from Burley in Wharfedale

Not only do I not have a drone yet, I don’t know how to fly one either. That’s going to change over the next couple of months though, 'cos I’ve been saying that if I was only 30 years younger I’d be up to my neck in getting involved, but that’s just an excuse for not doing anything about it, so here goes.
Typically I seem to have chosen just about the worst time to do so with new regulations being introduced next month - it was the same when I decided to learn to fly a powered hang glider when the CAA introduced the need to display the registration on the underside of the wing just a couple of weeks after I gained my licence; so that the public could identify low flying craft when complaining to the authorities (or was it to allow the police to better identify the increasing number of untrained enthusiasts who were littering our green and pleasant land with their corpses)?
Anyway, don’t hold your breath, but here I go …
Mal

4 Likes

Well welcome anyway and just have fun …

Hi @Mal and welcome to Grey Arrows!

So what type of drone do you have your eye on? :thinking:

Common sense tells me to go for something like the Mavic Air, but if I get really involved (which I suspect I well might) then I’d want to upgrade shortly after to a Mavic 2 Pro - although it might well be a Mavic 3 by the time I get to the ‘experienced pilot’ status.
I’ll be watching relevant topics in order to learn by other peoples’ experiences (and guidance).
Thanks for the welcome!

1 Like

You’ll not go far wrong with the Mavic Air, it’s a cracking piece of kit.

One of our members has a low-hours Air for sale here if you’re tempted:

1 Like

Welcome to the group.
Good choice in the air and also the M2P, :+1:

Hi @Mal