Hobbyist + filming + history

Life is certainly more complicated these days, especially as I have discovered taking my first tentative steps into the world of filming with a drone.
I am a filmmaking hobbyist and not earning a penny from short-form history projects.
Of course to get that nice crane and dolly shots would be possible using lots of gear but as an old buzzard, I am a bit past all that! So my attention turned to the amazing world of drones.
Filming above and around a church for example in my city centre would be wonderful but I realised there would be perhaps safety issues even with the smallest camera drone.
However, little did I know the enormous amount of rules and regulations there are!
It seems impossible to fly anywhere let alone in a town or city but I can understand the safety issues but it is all rather disappointing.
I suppose the Yorkshire Moors it will have to be or invest in a big crane. :frowning:

5 Likes

Hi @Andrea and welcome to GADC, I wouldnā€™t get too hung up on the rules, at first glanec they do seem very restrictive, however there are still lots of opportunities to fly within the rules

Not if they are to be believed

https://www.northyorkmoors.org.uk/about-us/press-office/flying-drones-in-the-national-park

Enjoy your stay with us, check out our very own Dronescene for member added places to fly as well as all the info for pre flight planning you could ever need

2 Likes

Iā€™d suggest they arenā€™t to be believed. The Park Authority owns hardly any of the land in the Park, and from a quick search I canā€™t find any sign of there being bye-laws in place. So the absolute most they can do is ask someone to move along for trespassing. And that still leaves over 95% of the Park which they donā€™t own and canā€™t control.