Huddersfield Calling

Good morning guys. If you’d told me 6 weeks ago that I’d be looking to get involved in ‘droning’ (not sure if that’s what it’s called, but our lass thought it was appropriate!), you would have been met with silence.

Working from home, and with a lot more time on my hands than I should have, I was trawling the internet for new hobbies and I came across ‘droning’ - something I’ve always thought would be great to do, but taken no further . As I did more research I found that drones were being used commercially and I got the seed of an idea, which began to grow into a low growing weed. To cut a long story short, I can do this both for fun and also it being a very useful tool for future work opportunities.

So, as it stands, I have no experience of flying drones, model planes, model cars/boats etc. A complete virgin. I’d love to get some advice from you guys to get started and find out where I can get involved locally. What type of drone should I start with? What do I need to know?

I know there’s not much going on at the moment, but when there is I want to be ready to go.

Cheers, Chris

1 Like

Welcome Chris, another Yorkshire lad here, Leeds by birth now out a bit further North (but now too far).

Loads of places out your way for flying, and a good lad in @mickydd on your doorstep, whom I’ll sure will be along soon to say hello.

Great bunch here, don’t be afraid to ask any questions, and share your work ;o)

2 Likes

And another Welcome from God’s own :grinning:

Like @milkmanchris said @mickydd is a top banana, i have been flying with him and become good friends,

Enjoy the site lot of top info from top guy’s :+1:

1 Like

Welcome Chris @CMC62
I am over in Halifax, I come over to Huddersfield regularly, particularly like flying up at Castle Hill. As soon as things allow, just drop me a line and happy to meet up. You can have a fly round with my gear.
Stay safe mate. Fingers crossed we can get out soon

1 Like