Lacock Abbey by DJI Mini2

This is my first post here. Visited Lacock Abbey yesterday on our day trip to capture some autumn colours in the Cotswolds

Lacock Abbey, Wiltshire

Lacock Abbey is known as the birthplace of photography made famous by William Henry Fox Talbot who invented the salted paper and calotype processes, precursors to photographic processes of the later 19th and 20th centuries.

It was an incredible moment for me to capture this historic site that laid the foundation of modern-day non-digital photographic prints.

8 Likes

The first photograph by Fox Talbot:

Saw this one and all other documents and devices. It was amazing

I studied photography at Manchester Polytechnic. Lacock was a village I passed through whenever I drove home to Dorset. I knew the importance of the Abbey to the history of photography.

Never stopped to visit! :frowning:

2 Likes

Definitely recommend a visit next time. The Abbey, the village, and the parkland around the abbey are beautiful for photography and dronography