Looking for recomendations for a Drone for a newbie!

Hi Everyone, I have just joined this forum and it all looks very informative! I am looking to buy a drone which will be for a hobbie and possibly work as well, I’m a roofer by trade so would like to explore using a drone for survey/inspection work, I believe I will need a Pfco from the CAA, has anyone got one of these?
So what drone would you recommend me to get for this kind of work. Also would you recommend new or used? I have a budget of about £1000. ,
Many thanks in advance
Dave

1 Like

Hi Dave, if your going to be using the drone mainly for work,i would think a DJI spark would do the job,and you can get the whole kit for less than £600. my mate uses his spark all the time for roof inspections and 1080p is an ok resolution for this kind of work.otherwise a mavic pro would be good,better range,and more then good for hobby and work!:+1::+1:

1 Like

Hi Dave,
And welcome firstly to the GADC !.
Recommending a drone for your work will depend on several factors.
But, before we get into that, you say:

Before a PfCO can be issued, you will need to be able to show your proficiency in flying at a recognised training centre, create a flight manual, and several other tests.
Which is an expensive job in doing this training.
It is not a simple case of turning up at a job to survey, starting up , and doing the survey itself.
Many risk assessments have to be made, permissions received, etc, etc etc!.
I think the expression I would use is “Learn to walk, before you run”, I have been flying drones for 4 years and more, and I think am just about ready to climb the PfCO mountain !.
As for which drone?, you could get a Mavic Pro or the smaller Mavic Air for a grand.
I suggest good old Youtube is your friend, look at as many videos as you can before you decide, and maybe join up with someone in your area to get an idea of what it is you may need for your use.
Once again a big welcome from one of the “Old Codgers”

1 Like