Mini 2 panorama shots with too much sky

I have been well impressed with the Mini 2, there is one little nigle which is when taking a 360 panorama shot it goes too far up taking too much sky. I guess one to get around that is to descend the drone and then less sky but with that you will also loose some of what you are looking down at.

I seem to remember on the M2P you can limit the how far the camera looks up in the gimbal settings, i have not been able to find a similar setting with the Mini.

Does anyone know this can be done, or do I hae to live with it or fly the M2P when possible.

There is I think it’s in the camera menu, something like “Allow Upward Gimbal Rotation” and it is just a tick box.

I personally have it on and tend to take my panos from the max height but I am still very new to photography let alone drones so wouldn’t take any inference from that haha.

I think even with the maximum upward gimbal setting both drones revert to ‘normal’ for pano mode.

3 Likes

Thanks for yor comments, I just had a play around and I did find the upward rotation switch and I left it off. I would still like a bit less up on the gimbal, but I could not see any way to do it.

I did however find pitch and yaw speeds and smoothing, it has settings for cine, normal, and sport. I reduced the speed and increased the smoothing for normal mode, which should help to produce a better video.

I have a question.

Exactly what do you think a 360 photo (panorama) is?

My take on this would be a photo (panorama) with a 360’ view of the position the drone is in when it takes the photo.

Ergo: 50% of the photo would be above the drone.

Please excuse me here, I am not being derogatory in anyway, I just don’t understand what your take on a 360’ photo (panorama) is.

I have an insta360 one x2 and funnily enough. That takes 360’ photos (panoramas) exactly the same as my drones, (50% of the photo is the sky) obviously altitude is the key though.