New kid on the block - near Bedford

Hi guys, I’m new to this and as a 66 year old kid I’m going to get a Mini 2 probably in February or March and have some fun!
I live in Central Bedfordshire near Bedford and will start looking for suitable flying areas however if I’m brave enough (in time and lots of practice) I may try out flying at dusk!
Is there guidance regarding any (or recommended) strobe lights for flying in bad/low light and is it best to fit something underneath the drone?
I will also be taking the appropriate tests as my drone will likely exceed the 250gms limit once I’ve got everything sorted
Regards
Nick

2 Likes

Welcome Nick - for the strobe lights have a look at this thread

Those CREE Strobes are Sooo Bright! - #24 by PingSpike - loads of info.

Also have a look in the Members Only section - you’ll find there a discount code for one of the best options :+1:

1 Like

Many thanks John and I appreciate your response and advice
I’ll have a good look!
Regards
Nick

1 Like

Hi!

I added a strobe similar to mentioned to a Mini2 and its still way under the 250g limit. It makes it a lot easier to see when overcast or dark.

The standard test on the CAA site is pretty straight forward, logical and you can see the various rules whilst you do it. I am looking at doing the next level too ( A2CoC ), more out of interest than need.

Cheers
C

Hi Christopher many thanks for your email

I too will sit the CAA test once I get my Mini 2 and I wish you good luck with the ( A2CoC ) one

Best Regards,

Nick Costain.

image003.jpg

image004.jpg

1 Like

Hi Nick and welcome,
I too live in Central Beds on the Beds/Cambs border between Sandy and St Neots
Been flying almost a year now since I retired in Feb 2020.
I am also (almost) 66 years old, so the coincidences just keep on coming !!
looking forward to the end of lockdown so that I can get back out again.