hi I’m a new member to the club. I would like to get started flying. I have been reading all the great posts and being a total beginner what is the best kit to start on? I’ve met a chap who favours the Parrot 2 but I see most seem to favour the Mavic range either Air or Pro?
2nd question is it good practice to look into the training CAA etc or just get out and have some fun ?

1 Like

Welcome aboard! Great to have you here.

People choose different drone for different reasons, what is your budget and what do you want to do with it? Do you want a bit of a fly with a few snaps or to get into more serious photography and video?

As for learning, get to know the drone code and if you want to brush up on flying skills 5ere are a few simulators about hat can give you a feel for it

Hi @BigE and welcome to Grey Arrows :smiley:

The Mavic Pro was my first drone… I was dubious at first though, what if I crash it, etc!

But I needn’t have worried, it’s a great piece of kit which (provided you’re not being stupid with) practically flies itself.

I’d check out either the DJI Spark or the Mavic Air perhaps? Both are great bits of kit!

I’d say get out there and have some fun!

If you can meet up with another GADC member (where are you based?) you’ll pick up loads of tips.

If you’re still unsure after a while, then look in to the training. Be advised though, most of the CAA training is around operations manuals, not the actual flying aspect.

Welcome once again :+1:

I am new around here too - welcome.

David

Welcome to the best and friendliest U.K. Drone forum - there’s none better.:+1::+1::+1::+1: