Newbie Starting Out on the FPV Journey

Now that I’ve had the Avata 2 for a couple months, I’m now considering to get a Freestyle FPV drone.

Ideally I’d like to be able to use my current controller(s) and Goggles that I got with the Avata 2.

So it will need to have the DJI O3 air unit.

Now I’m looking for some advice on the rest of the quadcopter.

I’ve been reading all the threads on here and watching YT videos on the subject, however this has left me with more questions, than when I first thought of it :face_with_spiral_eyes::face_with_spiral_eyes:

Do I go for 4” or 5”?
Self build, bind to fly or ready to fly?
What about the ESC & flight controller boards?

I’m open to all suggestions from members who have experience.

PS. I did search the forum before posting this, but there were no obvious returns to my search

As a fairly new pilot myself I don’t know how much my opinion counts but here are my thought. If you just want to be up and flying a bind and fly is a great idea. Myself on the other hand love the tinkering side of the hobby so my first freestyle quad was a build and there is something really satisfying about putting something together yourself and getting it in the air. That being said if you do decide to build something there is a minefield of options not least of which is size.
I personally think 4 inch is a bit of an odd ball, they are a bit big for a small quad and not big enough for a big quad. If you want something a bit smaller go for a 3 or 3.5 you can keep these sub 250g which is nice or if you want a big one go 5. From there a good idea is to look what is being put on the bnf’s and go a bit better as they tend to be built to a budget.
Hope that helps a little.

3 Likes

Thank you @Schnauzer_FPV

Opinions from all experiences, is appreciated, because I have absolutely zero knowledge at the moment.
:+1:t2: