Norfolk GPS jamming from 11th to 22nd of February 2019

Heads up Norfolk folk !

Source:

Map courtesy of @OzoneVibe :

Fly over it. :stuck_out_tongue:

Not sure how wide a 20NM circle is around that?

20NM = 37 Kilometers? :thinking:

I wonder what life-critical devices there are in that 1,600 sq.miles that depend on GPS?

Probably a good day for the Russians to attack.

I would hope they have a backup / alternative system!

And for vehicle thieves - provided they can nick it in two minutes or less.

Some things don’t have backup.

Location is only a part of the issue.

Precise synchronisation at 2+ locations is often done by GPS time signal.

That’s a big area!

There’s an interesting ruined chapel at N Elmham I’ve flown round before. I’ll not go back this month then.

Ta for the heads up.

Just my luck ! My very first opportunity to fly at a pals place on the 14th (Thursday) who is at 10 o’clock right on the yellow line. Should I be worried? Complete beginner so faffing about as it is but the sun will be out - - - - Grrrrrr !! :face_with_symbols_over_mouth::face_with_symbols_over_mouth::face_with_symbols_over_mouth:

Umm, might just be outside that area, sod it!, will just head to the coast, if need be !!

You’ll just have to head over here Rob ,for a fly about with me!

Thanks for the warning Dave, bloody typical, as the weather is supposed to be good around here later in the week !!:drooling_face:

i do wonder if this is the Yanks doing this testing, with the fact that Lakenheath and Mildenhall are just a few miles south of the test.
Two of the biggest bases in this part of the country !!.
Your thoughts @Manty ?, coincidence of you post a week or two back?

Would take you up on that Chris but people invading for the week so have to play the perfect host but I have told them I’m flying Thursday so make your own dinner (that’s good hosting where I come from):rofl:

Just head away from Wisbech opposite way from testing, and you should be fine.