OK so you’ve got your A2CofC and Article 16!

As a new drone pilot I wanted to get my accredited tests in place as soon as possible and to start getting some practical experience under my belt. This forum has been great for answering all sorts of queries. However I have another question. I have seen videos posted of flights over heavily urbanised areas and also flights which extend for quite some distance. I would be reluctant to make such flights given my inexperience. While we don’t intentionally fly over uninvolved persons, yet at distance we can’t always see, especially in urban areas. Drones are electronic / mechanical devices which can develop faults in mid flight, bird hits could also bring a drone down. So how advisable is it to make such flights?

If its a sub 250g drone then fly it in any urban areas you wish as long as it isn’t in a flight restriction zone without permission.

Here is a perfect example I used my DJI Mavic Mini to capture this image:

It’s of Coventry Cathedral and the Holy Trinity Church. Situated in Coventry city centre.

I’m curious as I’ve not taken the A2CofC myself, but surely if you have taken this course these questions should of been answered within the course Itself or am I missing something in regards to what the A2CofC actually is?

2 Likes

Much like cars can.

The same way it’s advisable to make such car journeys?

You might be over thinking things @Will-R :slight_smile:

2 Likes

You should always keep visual line of sight to stay within the code. So if you stay within the code it’s quite simple. It’s not advisable.

The videos you’ve seen are likely not staying within the drone code unless they’ve done something to their craft to make it highly visible or are in communication with a spotter. Although I think the spotter is officially meant to be within hearing distance.