RTH problem - setting to device location

Hi guys. To cut a long story short I’ll get to the point. I’m very new to this sport/hobby and have only flown my shiny new Mavic Air a couple of times. I have read the instructions over and over and have decided that the RTH is a must have. On both occasions I have tried to set the RTH to the controller point but received a message “Weak mobile device GPS signal. Cannot Aquire location info” I can set RTH to take-off location but this isn’t ideal if I’ve moved half a mile away and the drone goes dow for some reason. I have read on the internet that this is a bug in the Go4 app but I don’t know for sure. I’ve tried my iPhone, iPad and android but with the same result. Anybody know what to do? Cheers Barry

Right I’ll explain, so there are two return to home options one sets it to your phone and the other to the drone. Which have you tried?

From his post I’d say the understands the difference between the two? It’s just that he’s struggling to set it to the phone location.

1 Like

OK

Hi alexmciver,
The RTH is set to the controller which has my iPhone/ iPad or my android device attached to it. The Go 4 app indicated that the GPS has at least 17 satellites to fly. As I said I can set the RTH location to take off point which does work but this message pops up if I try to set RTH to the controller point which I should be able to use if I have Tracking engaged. The drone should be able to track the subject and if the RTH is triggered the the drone should land near the controller. That’s how I read it anyways.
Barry

The controller doesn’t have built in GPS. To set the RTH location to where you are, it’s using the phone’s GPS … and in your case it’s suggesting that the location the phone is giving isn’t accurate enough.

The 17 satellites is only what the Mavic Air’s onboard GPS is achieving.

Hi Ozonevibe,