Rules and goggles

Hi guys as im new to the hobby Im not sure what the rules are now for use of goggles
The code says keep drone in.los at all times without the use of equipment so how do we stand with the uses of goggles ?

1 Like

Simply you need a spotter to keep VLOS, someone else to watch for any possible issues or dangers.

1 Like

The rule is Visual Line of Site. VLOS. which means with the naked eye, unaided. If you wear goggles then you will require a ‘spotter’ to be with you to keep VLOS with the drone.

Fab thanks for the replys :ok_hand:

The drone code is pretty clear about this and nowhere in it does it mention The use of Spotters. Here is an extract;

However, the law [at ANO article 94(3)] requires that the remote pilot must maintain direct unaided visual contact with the aircraft which is sufficient to monitor its flight path so that collisions may be avoided. This is obviously not possible if that person is wearing video goggles or otherwise constantly monitoring a display. Therefore, FPV flight is only permitted if the activity has been approved by the CAA. A General Exemption has been issued which allows an element of ‘First Person View’ (FPV) flight to be conducted. If you wish to conduct an FPV flight which cannot be accommodated within the terms of this General Exemption, then you will need to apply to the CAA for an Exemption to do so.

Note: Images captured by a camera and displayed on a flat screen afford the pilot little by way of depth perception and no peripheral vision. This can make it difficult for the pilot to accurately judge speed and distance and to maintain sufficient awareness of the area surrounding the aircraft to effectively ‘see and avoid’ obstacles and other aircraft - as a result, the use of FPV equipment is not an acceptable mitigation for Beyond Visual Line of Sight flight unless the relevant operator has received a specific approval to do so from the CAA.