Smart Watches

Hi folks

Hope everyone is doing well and enjoying beautiful weather we’re currently having.

I was helping my brother in law, who is new to flying (socially distanced of course) when, after half an hour of flying, I noticed he was wearing a smart watch/fitness tracker (Fitbit).

I told him that he needed to take it off as it could cause interference saying that’s what I was originally told.

To be fair he did remove it but pointed out that there had been no problems and he had flown a few times by himself and not removed the watch with no problems at all.

This has now got me wondering if what I was told is correct or some sort of urban myth that I am inadvertently perpetuating?

I’d be really grateful for some sort of definitive answer.

Many thanks, take care, stay safe.

Peter

I’ve been wearing an Apple Watch for about 18 months, couldn’t tell you the number of flights that have taken place while wearing it, on multiple different drones.

Zero issues to report.

I’m voting myth :raised_hand:t2:

3 Likes

Must admit I hope it is myth as my “Senior moments” conspire to make me forget to take it off :hugs:

While you’re there Rich, any idea on outcome of my Sunrise video badge that I mentioned to you and it’s idea re “International pilot” badge?

Not heard anything since.

Cheers

Pete

I’ve read the same, never had an issue.

Even tried yesterday on the mini, watching the transmission graph, in manual the watch makes no difference to the strength of said bars

I call BS (in my non scientific experiment anyway)

2 Likes

Smart watches don’t cause interference but any watch on your wrist can cause problems when calibrating compass if it gets too close.

It won’t give a bad calibration, will just fail.

Depends a lot on how you hold the drone as well.

1 Like