Southport EGCO Birkdale Sands

I am new to Drone Flying. I have downloaded the Drone Assist App. Which is very good. I live near Southport. Merseyside. I was well aware of the restriction regards Woodvale and Sefton Council having a PSPO for the sefton coast. But i came across an albeit amber listing for EGCO Southport Birkdale Sands. This has puzzled me as the only time aircraft land on the beach is Soiuthport Air Show usually in July. Also this is only shown in drone assist not airmap or DJI fly. I guess the question is if it is amber can i fly my drone in this zone accepting the sefton council restriction for the coastline. Anyone with any local knowledge ?

I see your a member, why not use the clubs drone scene,

1 Like

Hi @oxogravy , it looks as though you’re quite new here :wave:t2:

Why not nip over to the Introductions page, and say hello properly and tell us a bit about yourself. :+1:t2:

I thought it was disused as it had been built over with housing… could be difficult to explain parking a plane in someone’s house

https://www.abct.org.uk/airfields/airfield-finder/southport-birkdale-sands-i/

I think the ‘airfield’ is the actual beach, not the housing estate area - used sometimes during the airshow, and maybe occasionally by microlights ?

1 Like

hmm,bit more info here

https://www.ukairfieldguide.net/airfields/Southport-flying-sites

looking at one of those images it seems to be close to here… good luck landing anything on that and walking away from it.

(turn the sat image overlay on or it will look like a sea of blue :slight_smile: )

I found this disused one at the top side of the pier, I cannot see anything taking off or landing on the mud flats of southport near the pier (it was fkin horrible last august BH for the air show).

some old photos of birkdale sands at the bottom of this thread

I guess this airport is called Birkdale Sands for good reason :slight_smile: