The Lidl XL GPS Drone

I wonder if anyone has experience of this drone? Bought one in moment of madness - as yet not flown. Gather no spares available. Possibly an error??? Interested to hear from someone who knows. Tnx Dave

1 Like

Hello djshaw, A google search for the Lidl drone brought me to your posting here. My wife got me one of these for Christmas, as I liked the idea of a starter drone. One of my friends has a very good DJI Mavic, which got me interested in the idea. As a complete novice, I have to say I am very impressed with the way the Lidl drone flies. My first outing ended in a squelch across a muddy field to retrieve it after it drifted in the wind when I gave it excessive altitude to avoid a tree, in somewhat gusty conditions. When I read the manual a bit more, I found I hadn’t got the GPS turned on (or calibrated). When I did that, it became very stable and controllable, and seems like a lot of kit for the money. The return to home feature is very useful. The only disappointment is the camera. The image isn’t as good as the resolution would suggest, even when stationary. I get the impression there is something smearing the inside of the lens, as some parts of the image are clearer than others. I may drop a line to Lidl support to see if the lens comes off so I can clean it.

It weighs in at exactly 250 grammes on our kitchen scales, so shouldn’t need a licence.

There is no gimbal on the camera, so in gusty conditions the image tilts with the drone as it works to maintain its position.

Have you tried yours yet? If you have I’d be pleased to hear how you got on with it.

Stuart

3 Likes

Welcome to GADC, Stuart / @stu66, and thanks for you comments on a Drone that’s not that well know.

If you have a moment, pop over to #introductions and tell us a little about yourself.

Dear Stuart