Two Drones flying in one location?

Hi, I went to get some footage of a new Ferris Wheel on the Pier in Llandudno. When I arrived another guy already had his drone up filming the same subject. It was just before sunset and I was hoping to film it with the setting sun… I waited until he had left before I put my Mini 2 up but by then the sun had set and the footage I did manage to get was pretty dark, although it did show off the Ferris Wheels light show quite well. As I’m fairly new to this my question is: I know it’s common sense because they could collide in the air but is there a code amongst us that you don’t fly at the same time as someone else at the same location?

I’ve posted the video I managed to cobble together but I think it’s too dark. :thinking:

6 Likes

Nope.

Just look at any power station cooling tower that’s being demolished.

There’s more drones in the sky than pieces of rubble on the floor :slight_smile:

If you come along to a meetup you’ll find common sense and good communication rules :+1:

4 Likes

If he was within earshot I’d have asked him what height he was flying at, then told him I’d be flying at ten meters above (or below) that. Problem solved :slight_smile:

8 Likes

… crop-circles when they first appear. It’s similar to midges on the Scottish moors.

3 Likes

I’ve had other drones join mine in the sky above crop circles and sunset scenes. If I know where the pilot os, I’ll fly over to get their attention (if they can’t be spoken to), and hope they realise I’m there. On the past two occasions, we both kept reasonably far from eachother at different heights.

I’ve seen clips of collisions on YT, but I reckon it would actually be pretty difficult to do, even if you tried it. Having now said that, watch mine plunge into Southampton Water next time I try and snap a cruise ship, ha ha!