UAV Forecast Threshold Settings for DJI Mini 3 Pro

Hello, I am a newbie and trying to get my head around the UAV Forecast App Threshold Settings (I’ve got a Mavic Mini 3 Pro). I am happy for someone to educate me on this, or if you know any good resources for me to figure this out myself please point me in that direction too! :slight_smile:

Basically, I am unsure what to put the following thresholds at:
(and to be honest, I am unknowledgeable about GPS satellites, and what is Kp?):

Max Precip Prob (%):
Max Cloud Cover (%):
Min Visibility (miles):

Min GPS Sats Visible:
GPS Elevation Mask (°):
Include GPS Sats: Y/N
Include GLONASS Sats: Y/N

Min Est. GPS Sats Locked:
Max Kp:
Include Galileo Sats: Y/N
Include Beidou Sats: Y/N

Show Daylight Hours Only: Y/N
Show Cloud Base (subscribers only): Y/N
Show Max Wind Altitude (subscribers only): Y/N

Many thanks.

1 Like

Go outside, see what the weather is like, and check a weather app :+1:

Start up the drone, and wait for “the home point has been recorded check it on the map”

Go and Fly :wink:

A bit more info on KP

Looking at the settings, just beside the Kp box there is a question mark, clicking on that you will find the following explanation:-

Q. What is the Kp index, and why does it matter?

The Kp index measures geomagnetic disruption caused by solar activity, on a scale from 0 (calm) to 9 (major storm). Anything at or below 3 or 4 is usually safe for flying. The higher the Kp index, the more likely you are to have diffulties getting an accurate GPS lock.

Solar activity interferes with GPS signals in two ways, both due to disruptions in the ionosphere:

• It decreases the signal-to-noise ratio and affects carrier frequency, causing the receiver to lose lock on some satellites. Instead of 9 satellites, you might lock only 6, or the number might fluctuate from second to second.