Using a tablet instead of a phone

Hi All,
I’m new both here and to drones so please bear with me. I’m a keen photographer and want to try using a drone to further my skills. I’ve been looking around and the more I look the more confused I get. Anyway having more or less decided on the Mavic Air as I wanted the collision avoidance (being new to this) I now see the Air 2 is out so may go with that if the differences warrant it… Long winded ramble but has anyone tried to use a tablet rather than a smartphone? I ask because my phone has a small screen and wonder if in bright sunlight I could loose sight of the drone while squinting to see the phone screen. As a second question - does anyone have experience on using the goggles?

3 Likes

I often use my IPad Air instead of my Sony Phone.
But, you really need a decent Sunshade and a Tablet holder to hold the tablet securely.
There are lots of posts on the Forum about this if you do a search.
I also use a Tripod the mount the Tablet, then I run a longer cable from the bottom USB port on the controller, to the tablet.
This is fine, providing you are static while you are flying.

2 Likes

I would highly recommend a tablet over a phone purely because it’s easier to see.
I do use my phone if it’s a quick flight or I’m not to bothered on what I’m viewing, as that’s just easier than setting up the tablet holder.

2 Likes

Thanks for advice - are there any holders that link the controller to the tablet or is this a stand alone thing? Sorry if I sound dim but just learning

1 Like

https://www.amazon.co.uk/KUUQA-Aluminum-Alloy-Foldable-Holder-Controller/dp/B071XP2MJ1/ref=mp_s_a_1_1_sspa?dchild=1&keywords=dji+tablet+holder&qid=1589968529&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1&spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUFXR1pGMk5QU0VHWU4mZW5jcnlwdGVkSWQ9QTA2OTQwMDlTWjVFNDBKN080R04mZW5jcnlwdGVkQWRJZD1BMDA4OTcwMzJLWFNWNkJSQU5GWFEmd2lkZ2V0TmFtZT1zcF9waG9uZV9zZWFyY2hfYXRmJmFjdGlvbj1jbGlja1JlZGlyZWN0JmRvTm90TG9nQ2xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==