What do you make of this? Drone sign at Kingsmead, Hertford

I’ve been flying since late 2017. One of my favourite spots to fly is in Hertford at Kingsmead. It’s on farmland and ever since I can remember, the farmer has given permission to fly there - even fencing off an area with a landing/takeoff strip. We contribute to mowing the grass and keeping the area tidy. It’s very popular with model aeroplane enthusiasts, drone racers and photographer flyers such as me.

So I turn up there today and am greeted with the sign shown in my image.
Quite a scary read, until you take the time to dissect the wording.

Thoughts anyone?

I still flew my Mini 2 and actually wanted someone to challenge me.

There must have been some complaints from someone for them to go the effort of erecting a sign.

Do you still have contact with the farmer that owns the land to confirm where East Herts owns?

Flying above council land i thought was irrelevant as long as drone code followed anyway but they can enforce TOAL from their land?

Could be wrong :expressionless:

1 Like

Seems to be a very clear notice that drones are prohibited but model aircraft are allowed.

It then specifically refers to Jet or Rocket propelled aircraft which of course your mini 2 is neither.

It’s fairly vague and I’d suggest the drone bit was an afterthought.

I’d contact them for clarity personally

5 Likes

I’d contact the farmer if it’s his land and his permission had been already given

3 Likes

There have been some extremely noisy racing drones flown there in the past, but it’s been quite some time since I’ve seen these. Nearest properties are over 400m away, the other side of the River Lea.

Even before this sign was erected, I always flew within the boundaries they show.