What happens when a drone hits an airplane wing

An interesting video with actual evidence and not assumptions - brings the risks of flying in the wrong places at the wrong heights very much into perspective! Worth a watch

1 Like

Indeed. You can certainly say goodbye to your drone. :frowning:

2 Likes

It makes one aware of the need to ensure height and location rules are followed. Its actually quite sobering to think that could be a plane full of people…

2 Likes

With the wash from a jumbo jet, would a drone be able to get anywhere near the wing of a plane?

2 Likes

That’s a really good point. It would be dragged over or under by the wash!

1 Like

I would assume so, I’d be amazed if a 1KG bit of flying plastic would get anywhere near it in the real world?

I’m no scientist, so don’t quote me on this, but surely a jumbo jet pushing forward at 200mph through the skies is going to disrupt a wayward DJI Phantom?!

2 Likes

The disruption of air only starts as it passes over the leading edge. A drone could hit the leading edge just as easily as a bird would.

That said it’s one of the strongest parts on passenger aircraft and the composite skin of nose cone or winglets would be more likely to receive more damage.

4 Likes

I work in aerospace and the thickness of a leading edge skin is only 2mm at its thickest.
It would be chemically etched to make it thinner (down to 1,2mm) in places to keep the strength and save weight.
I am sure bird strikes do occur on the wings as well as in the engines.
A usual test is to send a frozen chicken into an turbine engine whilst it is functioning.
Whether its a bird or a drone, i reckon serious damage would be caused by a drone. I can totally understand the concerns of the FAA and EASA.

3 Likes