Where is my pilot?

Out with the baby (Mavic Air 2) for the 2nd time. Flew towards a treeline and then turned around. Thought to myself, “just turn around until you can see yourself” but it was a little too low and too far away. Finally figured out to gain some elevation and look for landmarks to orient myself to return. I’m sure it’s a noob problem but is there a method that you all used to find your way back if you don’t want to auto return?

Yes and it’s a simple one. Don’t let it out of your sight.

8 Likes

6ft bamboo pole and a large orange flag?

3 Likes

It wasn’t out of sight at all. It was more that I couldn’t work out the direction it was facing. I think more practice is in order.

I am a newbie so perhaps others can comment more authoritatively. Why not rotate the UAV so the pointer representing the drone in the map points either to the track travelled so you can reverse it or points at you (the blue dot), if the path travelled is not a straight line. This way chances are you will get back to an area near you.

4 Likes

I also thought about a giant banner with an arrow that said “You’re right here, stupid!” :rofl:

3 Likes

that’s an excellent idea. I think more practice and a greater understanding of the screen and how to use those tools would do me a world of good.

3 Likes

never really had an issue, you know where you are standing so just look for something nearby that stands out, may be a tree, a bulding, a road a river. Hell if you are over a lake head for a shore and because you can see the drone you know which shore its headed to so turn using that.

Sorry, my mistake. You said it was too low so you couldn’t see it. Easiest thing for this is to look on your map view. Your location is marked with “H” and the orientation of the drone is shown with an arrow. Your flight path is also marked with a line so if you’ve gone straight out you can always just fly back along that line. Tapping the map on your screen will make it full screen for ease.