Which drone? Return to controller (not base) facility?

I’m a total newbie: help!
What drone should I buy? The hardware is moving so fast that reviews are out of date as soon as published: I’m thinking below £1000. Facilities: excellent photos; good battery life (30 min), collision avoidance, good range.
Problem: the main use will be taking photos while sailing, so return to take-off point is no use. Is there a return to controller facility?
Any advice very gratefully received!

If mainly used from a boat, I’d recommend one of Swellporo’s waterproof drones - IIRC they have return to controller

1 Like

Many thanks, Mart: I hadn’t come across them. Seems an excellent idea, but the reviews on their own website are very mixed. Perhaps the engineering is not quite there yet - ?

DJI 2S - can pick up 2nd hand combo (extra batteries) for £850 or less. Not sure about return to controller but can change the home point at any time - do update it before pressing the home button. Think there’s a YouTube about it somewhere.

Litchi (Android) has a dynamic homepoint setting which returns the drone to the mobile device so anything that works with Litchi, including the Minis.

The only issue with this is if it loses connection with the controller and initiates RTH then it goes to the controller location when it lost touch, be careful to stop the boat :wink:

3 Likes

Don’t think boats stop on a sixpence, best have the swimming cozzy at the ready :wink: : :wink:

1 Like

:anchor:

I have a Swellpro Spry+ drone.

Great fun little thing, yes it will return to controller and it can take off from water. It can be a bit bouncy to fly.

Camera is OK, but nothing like the usual DJI Mavic/mini stable.

Batteries only give about 12-14 min flight and the charger not sophisticated, but the batteries ain’t expensive either so you can have a bunch of them. Just make sure you reseal the compartment properly when changing them.