FPV GPS Module

Are all GPS modules born equal? I’m giving serious thought to fitting a GPS module to my Quad purely for failsafe while I’m still learning and then probably for Speed reports etc when I get more experienced. Having a quick look online it appears they vary greatly in price. Is there anything I should be looking for? Or anything that I should specifically avoid? Thanks in advance :slightly_smiling_face:

Bn880 for a good high sat lock. Bn220 for a small size.

1 Like

Any particular size for a 5" Karl?

The bn180 or 220 is good. The bn880 is overkill really. It has a magnetometer though if you were to go with inav rather than beta flight

1 Like

Full disclosure… after my first flight attempt I shit my pants and have decided I need a good failsafe. Its not so much me losing it or breaking it, I can’t get my head around just cutting the motors and letting it drop out the sky and possibly land on someone :grimacing:

Ummm beta flight rescue only works 1 or 200 metres out and will fly back in your general direction until you get control again. Or it just drops near you. It’s not a mavic mate

1 Like

Inav will land it like a mavic

1 Like

You’ll get used to it. Youll be fine

2 Likes

I’m not after Mavic style home and land by itself just something that if its flying away in the wrong direction it will come back to my general area if that makes sense? Is that possible Karl?

I found when I get out of my depth or disoriented I flip to angle mode and bring it gently back.

Have you tried with the goggles on yet?

3 Likes

Beta flight rescue does work at a distance. You’ll be able to see if anyone is around if you have to dump it. I’ve never had to use it though, only in testing. Best to have a spotter. Really helps

1 Like

Good idea. Angle and a little throttle will reorientate yourself

2 Likes

That’s what I did and have done a few times especially when trying to land without crashing to hard

2 Likes