Hello ... new to drones.. Portsmouth area

Hi.
I have always wanted to fly drones model aircraft since I was a lad… but I’m coming up to seventy now and have no experience or knowledge on what I’m doing, but everybody has to start somewhere.

I have obtained a flyers ID, Operator ID and a free used drone (Go-pro Karma) from my nephew.
I know the karma has had issues and is not liked by some and also not modern and up to date but I’ve seen it working, and it works well with no issues.
However, it has rained every day since I’ve picked it up and got the tickets and it’s still in the box. All I’ve done is charged the batteries. So, I am a complete noob.
I would really appreciate and advice on the best way forward.

1 Like

Hi @Indy-Garden and welcome to Grey Arrows :wave:t2:

Have you seen our members map? (Click the burger-menu in the top right) You may find some pilots living near you. Feel free to add yourself to the members map too :+1:t2:

We’re a well established club with many knowledgeable members so it’s very likely that any issues you come across will have been discussed here before. Our discussion forum has very powerful search features which should help you find what you need but if you get stuck you can post a new question in the #questions-and-answers category.

Looking for recommendations of places to fly? Check out our interactive map on Drone Scene - be sure to log in to gain access to the full suite of features and map layers:

And please feel free to add locations of your own too.

Please also take a moment to look at the Membership Levels section on our FAQ as we’re quite different to other clubs and you’ll be eligible for some rather exclusive club discounts as your membership level increases :blush:

Welcome once again!

(:wave: … and Hi from Southampton from me.)

1 Like

Welcome Charlie from the Black Country.