Hi From Chichester (Hambrook)

Hi All,
Yesterday I received my first drone (Mavic 2 Pro) and I’m looking forward to learning how to fly it.

I am a retired software engineer, interested in Photography, Drones, Boats, Bikes, clay shooting, Electronics and toys in general. I have wanted a drone for a long time and I am in the process of buying a boat so I now have the excuse :slight_smile:

I’m looking forward to finding out more and picking up some good hints and tricks from you all.

I’ve checked the rules and I’ve got my Operator and Flyer IDs so all I need to do now is find a quiet, flat, open area where I can run through all the practice drills that I have seen on YouTube. I saw the drone scene app and I understand that recreational areas need to be 150M away etc., but I’m finding hard to identify a hassle free area where I can learn to handle the drone without the risks of flying over water etc. Perhaps there is a club that has a flying area that I could learn on. If you have any ideas I’d be very grateful. Even if it means travelling a bit.

Thanks,

Geoff

Hi Geoff and welcome to GADC :+1: :+1: :+1:

You may like to search Article 16 - there are a few threads here dealing with the subject. Basically, Article 16 allows you to fly much closer/in recreational areas. To do so you must join an approved group and agree to their terms. I believe the cheapest option is to take out insurance with FPV UK (around £20/annum) and sign their terms and conditions and you’re away. You have to carry out a risk assessment but that is little more than you would normally do to ensure all is OK.

Check out Good2Go and select Article 16 for your M2 Pro and see the differences it provides - it may well suit your needs :+1: :+1: :+1:

1 Like

Hi Jhdee, Thanks for the welcome and the info.