Neighbour complaint

My neighbour has just learnt that I got a drone for Christmas. He has ordered me not to fly over their garden - our houses are semi-detached - and certainly not with the camera on. I fully understand the pricay issue but simplying flying over? He also told me not to video the church from a drone becase the “criminal element” will be able to identify the lead roof. What is my leal position? I am a complete newbie.

1 Like

Sounds like a neighbour from hell, do you want to fly over his property ? Regardless of the fact there is nothing to stop you your first few flights should be in a clear open area away from buildings, trees , power lines and other obstacles so you can get used to the controls and how your drone handles, if my neighbour “ ordered “ me like that I wouldn’t be putting his bins out any more !:rofl: plenty more advice will follow from this fantastic group I am sure :+1:t2:
PS when I say you can overfly his property you do however need to be aware that there are certain areas that have flight restrictions due to their locations ie Airports, Military establishments etc check out drone scene in the drop down menu to see if your area or indeed anywhere you intend to fly has any restrictions to consider

5 Likes

From a legal stand point. If your drone is sub 250 and you take off from your land, and you keep vlos, don’t invade his privacy there is nothing he can do. However if you were on numerous occasions did hover over his garden for example, he could possibly claim alarm harassment and distress which could be construde as an offence. But if you hover in your garden zooming in to his with the camera what would his attitude be.

Your neigbour sounds like a right karen Adrian. :roll_eyes:

4 Likes