New to drones!

Hi there I’m very new to drones just got my first drone it’s a eachine ex5 been looking for ages and couldn’t see the point in spending £300 + on my first ever drone hope I’ve made a decent choice !!!
Any hints and tips for getting started would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance

Hi Colin - welcome to GADC :+1: :+1: :+1:

Have a look at this thread - using the search function will probably find many more to help you get some good ideas where to start. Afraid I can’t help you with Eachine EX5 but I’m sure someone will be along with some good advice :+1: :+1: :+1:

2 Likes

My missus bought me one of those a couple of Xmas’s ago (wish she’d asked what I really wanted). I hadn’t got the heart to tell her it’s rubbish. It didn’t fly, the control was non existent at best, battery life was minimal, everything was so flimsy etc, etc! It’s sitting on the top shelf in the back bedroom until I can give it a decent burial sometime. Basically, they’ve taken the shape/design of the Mavic, and made it as cheap as they can. Sorry mate, but you’ve no doubt heard the saying “you get what you pay for”, well it’s the same with drones.
Buy a second hand DJI drone (Spark, Mini 1, but not a Phantom 1 or 2,) and you’ll have a much better flying experience and you won’t get fed up and leave the hobby!
Ask anybody on here, we’ll tell you anything you want to know.
Once again, SORRY!

2 Likes

Yes we’ll unfortunately we’re not all got money to burn and I’ve bought what I can afford and see as ok for a first drone !!!

4 Likes

Morning Colin
You don’t need to pay a lot to get a “good” drone, Sparks go for about 150 quid on ebay, which is about twice what you probably paid for the Eachine, but it’s at least 10 times a better drone.
You’d have obstacle avoidance, 12M still pictures, 1080P video (good quality), better range, parts availability and the batteries last probably 3 times longer.