"No Drones" signs everywhere

Hello!
I am a complete newbie - so much so that I haven’t flown a drone yet! I bought a drone last week hoping that it would compliment my photography business. Because the weather has been bad I haven’t’ flown it, but I have been making good with my time by reading manuals, watching YouTube videos and I have got my flying licence this morning.

Anyway, this morning dawned bright and dry so I thought I would take the drone for it’s first flight. I wanted to be away from anyone as I didn’t know what I was doing. I took the drone to a rocky outcrop miles from anywhere and getting out of the car I saw a sign ‘NO DRONES - it scares the cattle’. So I drove 5 miles away to another, smaller outcrop and again there was a sign saying ‘NO DRONES’ attached to a wall.

Never mind, I thought - I then drove along a country road with lovely views across to our big reservoir, nestled amongst some hill sand moorland. I parked at a layby and went through a gate onto the moorland with great views and then I saw it - someone had painted ‘NO DRONES’ in big yellow paint on the wall.

So I came home - very discouraged and disappointed. Despite reading the literature, my knowledge is still ‘shaky’ and although I think I can legally fly in these places, I didn’t want a stand up argument with some nasty landowner. I think the land is Common land, but I am not sure.

I guess from now on I will stick to designated ‘flying areas’ but this seems to take the fun out of it.

Does this thing with the ‘NO DRONES’ happen a lot - sort of makes me want to send the drone back.

2 Likes

Hi @jamesmhe and welcome to Grey Arrows :wave:t2:

This sounds like bad luck more than anything :slight_smile:

Try flying at one of the locations on Drone Scene :smiley:

Check out our interactive map on Drone Scene - be sure to log in to gain access to the full suite of features and map layers:

And please feel free to add locations of your own too!