Permission to fly in a Flight Restriction Zone, possible?

Hello all,

I am relatively new to flying drones, and very new to Grey Arrows.

I have a question that I am sure members will be able to help me with. I would like to get some drone footage along the river in downtown Leeds, but I see that as a result of the nearby airport, this area is restricted.

I will be using a sub 250g drone at a height not exceeding 50 meters.

It would be very helpful to know if permission to fly in areas like these can be obtained, and if so, how and where to start the process of obtaining such permission.

Thank you.

1 Like

I have just been given permission to fly in the NFZ of my local airport.
I went to the airport website, and found a link to ask for permission… you have to provide name, phone number etc, as well as the lat/long of where you want to fly, how high, what radius, what time etc.

It was a straight forward process, and I got a response a few days later. I guess it all depends on if they think what you are doing is safe.

Give it a go, they can only say no :slight_smile:

Thanks so much for the suggestion. I’ll give it a go.

There are no “no fly zones”, just restricted airspace which you may need permission to fly in.

One method has already been discussed which is getting permission directly from the aerodrome. Some aerodromes or other flight restriction zones will need you to go through NATS instead though, which will need a longer lead time typically than approaching the aerodrome directly.

The search icon (magnifying glass at top right) will help you look for the many threads about flting in restricted airspace.

This is your starting point for info on flying in FRZs

These are the two useful links that, if you look at the Aerodromes sections, will give contact numbers:

Also look for individual airfields on the net as manty prefer an email or their own contact form to be filled in.

@TeeCee start by ringing ATC, most are surprisingly helpful.