Setting up missions mapping

I am looking for a simple cheap software similar to a cut version of dronedeploy or pixel. purely for amateur use. Any suggestions? By the was I am not good at techy stuff.

Dave

For what drone @Ronidog ?

@PingSpike the Mavic Air. I want look at the vegatation on a Moor over the seasons

Does the DJI GO4 app now support waypoints for the Mavic Air?

I’ve not used it for a few years, maybe it only does waypoints for the Pro range? :thinking:

Litchi also comes highly recommended (and definitely works with the Air).

You will get a lot of people recommending Litchi. I use the Android version with my Mavic Air and plan missions on rainy days using my desktop PC, test them out by virtual flying on Google Earth and go out on sunny days to fly for real. Upload the mission, set the drone off and wath the screen as it flies the preplanned route.

I’ve had no problems with it and consider the money I spent (which, at around 20 quid, seems high for an app) to be well worthwhile and probably the best accessory for my Mavic Air or for any supported drone.

3 Likes

I prefer Litchi to the DJI Go4 app tbh, never had a prob with Litchi but Go4 keeps crashing on me

As far as I can see the DJI GO4 app does not support the Air.

Does Litchi allow me to grid out an area and then create a flight pattern to cover the gridded area and take photos? My understanding was that you created waypoints for a flight which I think is slightly different.

Please excuse my ignorance or lack of a clear explanation of what I am trying to do. I will try again below.
I have an area of moorland I want to fly over and photograph it. in a systematic way taking linking photos. Then I want to be able to go back a few months later, fly the same mission, take the same photos and therefore have a comparison.

I’m not sure about gridding with Litchi as I’m a new pilot but it’s perfect for plotting a course and using waypoints