Hello from the Fens

First time drone owner, Mavic Air & totally clueless. Unable to get started because I am a complete duffer with tech stuff ( retired boat builder ). Joining your group of tech savvy enthusiats in the hope that you guys can help advance me upwards :+1: Many thanks. Rob

2 Likes

Hi Rob welcome to this madhouse we call home
Have you flow it yet?
Ok weather may be an issue…
If you have did you find your neck sore looking at the screen and the drone trying to make sure it doesn’t fly away also no one is looking and going to come up and tell you take that down …
Well we have al been there
If you haven’t try you tube for some help try @ianinlondon he has a great channel with tips for new users and different drones plus he is a member here link below
Dependant on where you live members can come along and help you get to know your drone and any fears you may have
Once again welcome the admin will be along with some things you will need to fill in about yourself and where you live
Jeff
https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCdP4yGgQSPGci2B3qdmoJHw

1 Like

Hi Rob, and welcome to GADC.
Where about’s are you in the Fens?, it covers a lot of area !.
Just be very wary of No Fly Zones (NFZ) get armed on your phone with Apps like: “Nats Drone Assist”, “Google Maps” (and cache the area you intend to fly in) “UAV Forecast”, “FlightRadar24” (shows Live Commercial aircraft), “HDSync” (records all your flight data, and maps)
I am based in Norwich, not so far from your area.
Always welcome to tag along on a Meet, at anytime we are going on a fly around.
I was in Spalding not so long back, found a great place to fly, right next to the river.
As Jeff has suggested, get familiar with your drone and it’s controls,without going to far away at first.
and study as many Youtube Videos as you can, they are always invaluable in your learning road to droning.
Feel free to contact me, or any of our members for any advice you may want.
Once again, a big welcome !.